The Dr. Michael P. Reidy/Belmont Abbey Athletics Hall of Fame inducted two new members during homecoming weekend October 4-5. Enshrined in this year’s class were Hank Steincke, ’63 and Clint Bryant, ’77. The Hall of Fame inductions took place Saturday, October 5 in the Student Commons beginning with a reception followed by dinner and inductions.


Hank Steincke, ’63

Steincke, a native of New York, was a member of the basketball, baseball and soccer teams during his career. Steincke was a four year member of the basketball team, spent two years on the diamond and played one year of soccer. He led the baseball team in home runs in 1962 and was the starting goalkeeper on the inaugural soccer team. He was the recipient of the Marty Thomas Award as the most outstanding athlete as a senior.

The 1999 Belmont Abbey Alumnus of the Year, Steincke has sponsored Belmont Abbey’s involvement in the New York City St. Patrick’s Day Parade for the past 30 years. He was instrumental in bringing the production of “Coach” to Belmont in 2010, the one man play about his former coach Al McGuire that was written by legendary sportscaster Dick Enberg.


Clint Bryant, ’77

Bryant came to Belmont Abbey from suburban Washington, D.C. in 1973 and played basketball for four years. He was among the Crusaders leaders in rebounds all four years and was called one of the team’s top scholars. He was the recipient of the Marty Thomas Award and graduated with a degree in Business Management. He later obtained a master’s degree from Clemson. After a standout coaching career, Bryant is now the Director of Athletics at Georgia Regents University, (formerly Augusta State University) a position he has held for the past 26 years.

Earlier in the afternoon the new tennis court complex located here on the Abbey campus was dedicated.  The dedication, which was attended by many and presented by former Abbey tennis player and friend Will Esser, officially named the new tennis center the Dr. Michael P. Reidy Tennis Center.  Coach Reidy also received a life-time achievement award at the Athletic Hall of Fame dinner.